Confession

       This morning I was reading the daily Gospel Reading, and was struck by Luke 5:8 When Simon Peter saw this, he fell at the knees of Jesus and said, “Depart from me, Lord, for I am a sinful man.”.  It really started me thinking, if this man our first Pope, the rock that the church is built on  felt unworthy to be in the presence of Jesus.  Yet Jesus kept the self proclaimed sinner in his presence and as his closest companion on earth.  What an awesome display of forgiving sin.  The joy Simon Peter must have felt knowing that what ever sin he may have committed are forgiven by our Lord.  

      I too have experience this forgiveness every day.  I ask for it in prayer or by what I consider one of the greatest sacraments we are given penance.  The relief I feel after confession and the burden I feel lifted off my shoulders is indescribable.  Knowing that our savior has already forgotten my sins and loves me despite them is so overwhelming.  I know its cliche but God hates the sin not the sinner.  For those who have not been to confession in a long time or have never been, do not fear it, embrace it you will feel so much better afterwards.   Jesus loves all of us sinners.  

 

Peace,

The Wretch

 

A Prayer of Contrition

Merciful Father I am guilty of sin I confess my sins before you and I am sorry for them. Your promises are just; therefore I trust that you will forgive my sins and cleanse me from every stain of sin. Jesus himself is the propitiation for my sins and the sin of the whole world. I put my hope in his atonement. May my sins be forgiven through His name and in His blood may my soul be made clean.

Amen

Image

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

