Once again he showed me he was listening.

Image

"The Incredulity of St Thomas" by Caravaggio

Sometimes I feel like St. Thomas, doubting if my prayers will be heard, knowing full well they are. This morning as sometimes happens to me all the worries in my life came rushing into my mind all at once, so I prayed for the Lord to be with me. I know that he is always by my side but I pray to feel his presence and as always he answered. While on my way to work this morning, I stopped in traffic not two minutes from my house behind a car that had a bumper sticker that said pray the rosary. I did not think much of it and kept driving, the second time I stopped in traffic I was behind a car with a sticker with a dove representing the Holy Spirit. Then light dawned on my thick skull, he is all around me no matter all my worries and strife the Lord will be there. I was also listening to Timothy Cardinal Dolan’s Homily from last Sunday and heard a great poem that he shared with his the attendees at St Patrick’s Cathedral in New York. I will post it below. This poem summed up why I should not worry so much and carry the crosses the Lord has given me, for with him they will be lifted from me.

Peace and love of the Lord be with you.

The Wretch

“Jesus of the Scars”

A poem by Edward Shillito (1872-1948), a Free Church minister in England during World War I:

If we have never sought, we seek Thee now;
Thine eyes burn through the dark, our only stars;
We must have sight of thorn-pricks on Thy brow,
We must have Thee, O Jesus of the Scars.
The heavens frighten us; they are too calm;
In all the universe we have no place.
Our wounds are hurting us; where is the balm?
Lord Jesus, by Thy Scars, we claim Thy grace.
If, when the doors are shut, Thou drawest near,
Only reveal those hands, that side of Thine;
We know to-day what wounds are, have no fear,
Show us Thy Scars, we know the countersign.
The other gods were strong; but Thou wast weak;
They rode, but Thou didst stumble to a throne;
But to our wounds only God’s wounds can speak,
And not a god has wounds, but Thou alone.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Once again he showed me he was listening.

  1. Ed Churchill

    Nice job Frank. I very much enjoyed reading this. God Bless brother. DeColores!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

